House Select Subcommittee on the Weaponization of the Federal Government

From The Conservative Treehouse, published 2/7/23

Interesting background stuff.  The House Select Subcommittee on the Weaponization of the Federal Government has scheduled their first committee hearing for Thursday, February 9th at noon [LINK].  There are no details on the agenda for the first meeting; however, there are indications of the seed and targeting process that is being used.

According to a press announcement today from House Judiciary Chairman Jim Jordan, who is also the Chairman of the select subcommittee, the larger Judiciary Committee is currently taking transcribed testimony from FBI whistleblowers about the political targeting within the Dept of Justice.

Against that backdrop, it is possible -perhaps likely- the agenda for the select subcommittee will be tailored as an outcome of those whistleblower depositions.  This would seem to make sense as the scope of the subcommittee needs to be narrowly tailored and focused on specific operations by government officials.  Using the whistleblower testimony to frame the investigation of the subcommittee makes sense, in that the testimony creates the basis for the investigation to follow.   First, here’s Jordan today:

The FBI whistleblower depositions will likely form the first material for the Select Subcommittee to discuss.   This structure provides a two-prong approach toward sunlight on the larger issues at stake.

The main House Judiciary Committee has constitutional oversight over the DOJ and by consequence the FBI.  The detailed discoveries are then passed down to the select subcommittee for further investigation.  Hopefully, everyone can see the benefit to that approach.  Judiciary holds bigger issues, then hands-off the smaller, perhaps deeper individual cases to the subcommittee for follow-up.

Democrats have now announced their NINE members for the House Select Subcommittee.  They include: Ranking Member, Stacey Plaskett (VI at large); Stephen Lynch (MA 08), Linda Sanchez (CA 38), Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL 25), Gerry Connolly (VA 11), John Garamendi (CA 08), Colin Allred (TX 32), Sylvia Garcia (TX 29) and… wait for it…. DOJ/Lawfare/Impeachment operative Dan Goldman (NY 10). 

The 12 Republican members previously announced: Darrell ISSA (CA), Thomas Massie (KY), Chris Stewart (UT), Elise Stefanik (NY), Mike Johnson (LA), Chip Roy (TX), Kelly Armstrong (ND), Greg Steube (FL), Dan Bishop (NC), Kat Cammack (FL) and Harriet Hageman (WY).

Continue reading…

By Radiopatriot

Retired Talk Radio Host, Retired TV reporter/anchor, Retired Aerospace Public Relations Mgr, Retired Newspaper Columnist, Political Activist * Telegram/Radiopatriot * Telegram/Andrea Shea King Gettr/radiopatriot * TRUTHsocial/Radiopatriot

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: